What to Expect at Your College/ University Orientation: My Personal Experience

I’ve decided to write an all-encompassing post on my personal experience with a university freshman orientation. I’m starting this post now, but will finish it tomorrow after I actually EXPERIENCE the orientation. When I was looking up online about what to expect at this fabulous affair, I couldn’t really find much- and that pissed me off because I like being super prepared for everything. Anyway, I’m just going to write about my experience from beginning to end, basically. Enjoy, my dear internet friends, and I hope this helps some peeps out.

BEFORE ORIENTATION:

So, I guess I should first post a little back story info. The chicks love a good back story (guys should too you know, PLEASE SOMEONE DATE ME AND APPRECIATE MY ABILITY TO PRODUCE A GOOD BACK STORY).

This is how I start all my official documents.

Okay- back to the back story. I graduated high school this past June, however I did ALL of my senior year at a community college as I was part of an early college program. I currently hold about 50 college credits (51 to be exact) and have already had the “freshman experience”, so I’m feeling lazy about this whole orientation thing I’m going to tomorrow. I have the whole “been there, done that” vibe going on right now. I’m not even moving out of my parent’s house to attend university as the institution I’m going to is literally 15-20 minutes away- that ruins the whole OMG I’M A REAL ADULT NOW PINCH ME feels. I’m really a sophomore now, so I don’t know how I’m going to react to this whole thing as the university I’m attending insists that I’m a freshman as I was still technically in high school when I earned all the credits.

Now another reason for me being less than enthused to have to go to this thing is because it’s going to be happening ALL MOTHER FU*&$#*%@ DAY. From 8:30 a.m. till 5:00 p.m. I will be unavailable to the world. Also, I have to wake up early! Ruin my lazy summer why don’t you.

We’ll see how this goes.


DAY OF ORIENTATION/ THE ACTUAL THING

I had to wake up at 6 a.m. 6 FLIPPING O’CLOCK IN THE MORNING. No, just no. Strike one for college orientations. After getting up horrendously early, I got ready for the day. Make sure to dress comfortably because trust me, being uncomfortable + meeting a shit-ton of new people + being in a new environment + walking so much you feel like your feet are going to fall off  = not a very fabulous experience. I wore (just if you’re wondering) a green plaid shirt with rolled up sleeves, a grey maxi skirt, and flip flops- I also put my hair up into a ponytail and put on minimal makeup. Not the cutest thing to wear, but it was comfy and that’s what matters to me. We (I went to this thing with my momma- JUDGE ME) drove the 15 minutes to a parking garage near the university because it was cheaper than paying summer parking fees at the school. It was a 10 minute walk from there to the college, but it was actually kind of fun, and my mom and I got a good glimpse at what types of shops and things were in the area.

We finally get to the place and are sent over to the second floor of the student union where we find a large room with a table set up front to check in, and a HUGE amount of people waiting to register.  I turned to look at what would eventually be my minions classmates and thought, “Ya’ll look like fetuses.” Seriously, they all looked super young and uncomfortable. I went to go wait and grabbed some water because good Lord the day was already hot and the mass amount of bodies in a confined space didn’t make it any better. After finally getting checked in we were shuffled up a floor to a large ballroom with a stage up front and a podium, with rows of chairs in front. They had some more water and snacks laid out so I got more agua and an apple, and stood in yet another line to get pictures taken for student I.D. cards. So, tip number one- mentally prepare yourself to wait in line like you would at Disneyland, but without the fun rides at the end.

After finally sitting down we watched this video on the history of my university and the “cool” stuff they offered. Then there were a few speeches- yada yada yada. All the students had group numbers on the name tags we were given and got shuffled off with small groups of other students, while the parents went off to a panel on “How to let go of your child”. My mom told me it was super boring, but hilarious to see some parents actually taking it seriously (my mom’s a really casual person and doesn’t really care about “letting me go”, she knows she’s still going to see me!). I was in group 8, which included some hipsters, and people who were totally oblivious to what was happening. The student leader of my group was really cute and led us to the roof of a building where we got a gorgeous 360 view of the area, where we all talked about the school for a little while. Then we walked back to the student union and chose the information sessions we would like to go to- there were about 6 we could choose from. I went to the “5 tips to succeed in college” which was not very informative, but the people presenting it were awesome. I also attended “Money Matters” which talked about financial aid and budgeting in college. This info session was actually very informative, and the dude that was presenting was hilarious. His motto, “Ya’ll gotta learn to live broke,” Amen to that. But the whole time during this session I couldn’t help thinking:

Someone give me moneyyyyyyy!!!!!!

Then it was time for lunch. Foooooooooooood- my only true love. I got a sandwich and some water, which was actually pretty good, and went outside to eat and meetup with my mom. We had and hour and 45 minutes of break time until the next meeting, so my mom and I walked around and gave ourselves a mini-tour. We went to the basement of this building where there was a FLIPPING BOWLING ALLY, and went to the huge library that was on campus. Then, because it was so damn hot, my mom and I chilled in the air-conditioned student union and went through some of the info that we got. We then went to the meeting that was for the people enrolled in the liberal arts college. At this event we learned about graduation requirements and all that shiz. Then is was time for the advising session, where you broke up to meet with the specific adviser for your major and plan for your classes. My adviser was awesome and super helpful. I’m actually looking forward to speaking with her throughout my college career.

After signing up for classes, we got to go home. That was it.


After the Orientation- Final thoughts and What You Should Bring 

Basically, I’m tired. Be prepared to be both physically and mentally exhausted. After the orientation, just go home, watch TV, and eat as much ice cream as you want. Now, I’m just going to make a simple list of what you should to bring to your university’s orientation.

  1. Comfy Shoes– Please, PLEASE wear comfortable shoes. There was this one girl I saw that was wearing platform heals. I would see her periodically throughout the day, and I could tell she was getting more and more uncomfortable as time went on. She was doing the whole penguin-waddle-walk near the end of the day. 
  2. Paper & Pen– Trust me on this one. You’re going to have a lot of information thrown at you, and your going to want to jot it down. Even though you’ll probably bring a laptop or tablet with you like I did, sometimes it’s just quicker to actually write things down.
  3. Backpack– Don’t try to pack around a shoulder bag. A backpack is so much better when you go to these types of things. A backpack isn’t in the way of what you’re doing, and you can pack more stuff around without the shoulder pain you get when you lug around a tote.
  4. WATER– You’re gonna get thirsty, you’re gonna need it.

 

If you’ve read up to this point, thanks so much for sticking with me!

Pickles.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

